History

E A Combs Limited is a privately operated and financed company, currently based in South Woodford, on the borders of north east London and Essex.

The origins of the Company go back to 1895, when German immigrants decided to import clocks from the Black Forest and sell them by travelling the UK.

After the conclusion of the 1914-18 conflict, it was decided that name of the company should be changed from its German origin. The commercial traveller who was known by many customers was Mr Ernest Albert Combs and this is the basis of the company today.

For many years until the late 1970s, E A Combs Limited represented the largest German clockmaker, Gebr. Junghans GmbH., marketing a range of domestic and commercial clocks, as well as industrial timing devices. Throughout this period, it was a family run business by descendants of the original owners.

In 1981, the Company was sold to the Biddle & Mumford group of companies, which was chaired by Frank Williams and assisted by his wife Audrey, son Richard, with John Gascoine appointed as Managing Director.

E A Combs Limited was purchased by the Directors in 1991 and the Company remains independent in every respect today. It is run by John and Richard, ably assisted by members of staff with many years’ experience.

History

Looking for a timing solution?